Jonathan Lethem. Perkus Tooth, in, The Book of Other People, 2008

Susan Eldred gave me Perkus Tooth’s number, then
paused. ‘I guess you must have recognized his name . . .’
‘No.’
‘Well, in fact he’s really quite an amazing critic. When I
was at NYU my friends and I all used to idolize him. When I
first got the chance to hire him to do a liner note I was quite
in awe. It was shocking how young he was, it seemed like
I’d grown up seeing his posters and stuff.’
‘Posters?’
‘He used to do this thing where he’d write these rants on
posters and put them up all around Manhattan, these sort of
brilliant critiques of things, current events, media rumours,
public art. They were a kind of public art, I guess. Everyone
thought it was very mysterious and important. Then he got
hired by Rolling Stone. They gave him this big column, he
was sort of, I don’t know, Hunter Thompson meets Pauline
Kael, for about five minutes. If that makes any sense.’
‘Sure

Jonathan Lethem. Perkus Tooth, in, The Book of Other People. Edited by Zadie Smith,2008

Author: jeh

Jeremy Hunt is Director of the AAJ Press (Art & Architecture Journal / Press) – a writer and consultant on art and public space - creator of art projects - writer on art

Leave a Reply

